Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 26
Alice W. Barker Poetry Journal
Collection
Identifier: SC 00726
Scope and Contents
According to the bookplate, this journal seems to have belonged to Alice W. Barker and contains poems, prayers and other writings as well as clippings of poems and writings.
Dates:
circa 1919
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Violet L. Barnett Diaries
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.504
Scope and Contents
Diaries of Violet Laughead Barnett (d. 1972) of West Chester, Pennsylvania for the years 1931-1972 (with the exceptions of 1967 and 1968). Violet Barnett was a homemaker and had two children, Ethel and Earl. Daily entries cover chores, weather, family and social life. There is also the occasional comment on national and international events. Violet Barnett was very engaged in church activities and a member of several chapters of the National Grange. Also included are a few newspapers...
Dates:
1920-1972; Majority of material found in 1931-1972
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Mae Alvan Belt Diaries
Collection
Identifier: MS 00155
Scope and Contents
3 Diaries, 1933, 1936-1940 and 1941-1943 of Mae Alvan Belt of Rockville, Maryland. The 1933 girl scout diary was written while Mae Belt was a teenager and contains brief entries that mention school, house work, and social life. The 1936-1940 diary contains brief daily entries. Mae Belt seems to live with her parents and mentions going to work, working some evenings, helping with Red Cross work, doing house hold chores, but also comments on her social life and particular her courtship with a...
Dates:
1933-1943
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Benjamin Bray Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.35
Scope and Contents
One box plus oversize diploma of Benjamin Bray, William and Mary class of 1949. He was a Common Glory actor, poet, playwright, teacher and social worker. Papers consist mostly of his poetical writings plus one play written with his brother James.
Dates:
1950-1999; Majority of material found in 1985-1995
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Diaries (Washington, D.C. and Va.)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.003
Scope and Contents
Diaries, 1925 and 1928 of an unidentified Southern Railway employee, who worked in a Washington, D.C. office. Entries cover family, health, social life, weather, food, work, and trips in and around Washington D.C., Maryland and Virginia. The writer was a member of the Brotherhood of American Railway Engineers. Some of the entries are rather detailed and give a good impression of the daily life of a mid-level office employee at the time. Also included are notes made by a...
Dates:
1925, 1928
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Diary on the end of World War II
Collection
Identifier: SC 00638
Scope and Contents
Diary, 1945-1946, of an unknown person detailing the reactions to the end of World War II. It includes both handwritten diary entries and well as newspaper clippings cut out and glued into the diary. The cover includes a political cartoon entitled "New Light of Asia" and depicts firebombs falling on Tokyo.
Dates:
1945-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Heinz and Gertrud Siegel Elber papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00391
Content Description
The Heinz and Gertrud Siegel Elber papers consist of a scrapbook and a guestbook documenting their social life and Heinz Elber's professional career as a kapellmeister (bandmaster) in Dresden, Germany. Heinz Elber (30 April 1882-5 December 1969) and Gertrude Siegel in 1951.
Also included is biographical background information provided by relatives in form of diary excerpts, correspondence and a newsletters article about Heinz Elber's life and violins.
Dates:
1918-2012
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Alonzo Frenger Diary and Account Book
Collection
Identifier: SC 00659
Scope and Contents
Diary and account book, 1876-1879 of John Alonzo Frenger of Staunton, Augusta County, Virginia. The accounts are for farming and household expenses and the diary entries describe farming, trips to town, social visits, health, family life, church related events and also comment on economic developments and political events. Also included is a 1881 clipping from the Alleghany Tribune, that shows that a relative of John Alonzo Frenger, W.H.H. Frenger was editor and proprietor at...
Dates:
1876-1879
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Galt Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G13
Scope and Contents
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1745-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Frances G. Hoppin Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00121-Mss. Acc. 2007.108
Scope and Contents
The papers, 1917-1918 of Frances G. Hoppin who opened the Red Cross Grenelle Dispensary in Paris, France in 1917, which was one of about 30 civilian dispensaries administered by the Red Cross in Paris at that time. This accession consists of both personal papers and records relating to the dispensary.Included are two journals in which Frances Hoppin recorded both her personal experiences as well as business items relating to the dispensary. Also included is a 3-page report on the...
Dates:
1917-1918
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Jerome J. Mason Memorandum Book of Clippings
Collection
Identifier: SC 01551
Scope and Contents
Diary with entries, newspaper and book clippings pasted in, and many marginal notes. Some pages appear to have been removed. Most clippings are poetry, including campaign poetry about Ulysses S. Grant.
Dates:
1863-1866
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lane Carlson papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00004
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1937-1972, of Colonel Bonnie "Lane" Carlson, originally from Scotts Bluff, Nebraska. Colonel Lane Carlson was one of the first five female colonels in the United States Army. Primarily includes letters written to and from her parents throughout her life, beginning with her time at Sullins College in Bristol, Virginia, various military bases, postwar Japan and West Germany. Some of the topics discussed in the letters include base life during the war, the experience of a commissioned...
Dates:
1937-1972 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Doris Ann McFarland Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 00739
Scope and Contents
Papers, circa 1933-1943 of Doris Ann McFarland of Reedville, Virginia and later Washington, D.C. and possibly Philadelphia, Pa. Included are a diary, 1933-1934, kept while Doris McFarland was a 4th and 5th grader in the Reedville School in Reedville, Virginia; a report card for the 1933/34 school year; a photograph, circa 1940s of McFarland in Uniform, greeting cards, postcards, concert programs, ticket stubs, church fliers and news clippings. Many of the concert programs and tickets...
Dates:
circa 1933-1943
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Mozelle DeVonne McNeil Papers, circa 1940-1960
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.594
Scope and Contents
Papers, circa 1940s-1960s, of Mozelle DeVonne McNeil, includes correspondence, photographs, diaries, educational records, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other ephemera. These papers represent a view of everyday life in mid-twentieth century America from the perspective of a soldier's wife.
Dates:
circa 1940-1960
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Stephen P. Middleton Letter Book and Diary
Collection
Identifier: MS 00018
Scope and Contents
Acc. 2009.492: Volume of copies of outgoing correspondence of Stephen P. Middleton of Norristown, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania for the years 1886-1892. The front cover is labeled 'Copy 1886-1892' and the first page is titled "Time Account of Stephen P. Middleton of Norristown, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, wrote October 18th, 1886." The first 3 pages were begun in 1880-1881 as an account of time worked and earnings, but starting on page 4 the author copied his outgoing...
Dates:
1880-1881, 1886-1893
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Mina Barnhouse Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 00820
Scope and Contents
Diary titled "Covered Wagon Days, As Written by Mina Barnhouse," documenting a family's 1895 move from Kansas to Flathead Valley near Kalispell, Flathead County, Montana as part of a larger wagon train. The diary was written in 1945 and it is not clear whether it is a transcription of a 1895 document or whether it was composed 50 years after the event based on memory or oral histories. The diary begins on June 13th with a summary of the wagon train members and continues as day-by-day account...
Dates:
1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lynne O'Neill Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00186
Content Description
Papers, 1955-1975, of Lynne O'Neill, a striptease artist and burlesque dancer. Includes correspondence, notes, newspaper clippings and printed material. There is also a diary containing what seems to be the first seven pages of a draft of a book that O'Neill was writing; it includes her opinion on salaries and the death of a performer named Eve Addams. The notes include a list of incidents, including an attempted sexual assault against her, and a list of questions that she may have wanted to...
Dates:
1955-1975
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
W. B. Osgood Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 01036
Scope and Contents
Diary, 1865-1867, of Warren Bates Osgood (1844-1880), a Methodist preacher based in the Chicago, Illinois area. During the period in which this diary was written, Osgood was working as a teacher to support himsself through his studies. The diary contains detailed, daily entries by Osgood related to religion, methodism, looking for a teaching position, the treatment of individuals who have fallen ill, the differences between the North and South after the Civil War, and various sermons he...
Dates:
1865-1867
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Maude M. Presslor Papers, 1913-1972
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.593
Scope and Contents
This collection contains the diaries, correspondence, and biographic material of Maude M. (Mathas) Presslor (1898-1972) of Montezuma, Indiana from 1913-1970. Earlier papers and material relate to Presslor's life as a teenager and young adult during the World War I period. Letters from friends serving in France and a baby book detailing the early years of her three children, Betty Jean (Presslor) Montgomery, Frank Richard Presslor, and David Lowell Presslor, date from this period. Later...
Dates:
1913-1972; Majority of material found in 1943-1972
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas E. Pugh Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00005
Scope and Contents
The papers of Rev. Thomas E. Pugh, who was the minister of the Williamsburg Baptist Church in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1952-1981. Collection includes both personal and ministerial related material. Early photograph albums show Pugh's childhood but his correspondence and papers begin with his student days at the University of Richmond in 1940. He attended Crozer Theological Seminary and Harvard University Chaplain School before becoming an Army Chaplain in 1944. His first...
Dates:
1914-2001; Majority of material found in 1941-1998
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Renick Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.350
Content Description
The Renick Family papers include farm account books, newspaper clippings, obituaries, genealogical materials, photographs, correspondence, and artificats documenting the lives of the Renick Family. Family members documented include Dewey Campbell Renick, Fern Cooley Renick, Jean Renick, and Dewey C. Renick Jr. The farm account book, circa 1942-1962, includes accounts of Kings Mill Farm (Thomas M. Brooks), Carter’s Grove Farm, Evelynton Plantation, Kings Mill Dairy Farm (operated...
Dates:
Circa 1900-2007
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Marie Rifenburg Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 00689
Scope and Contents
Diary, 1934, of Marie Rifenburg of Rhinebeck, New York. Primarily concern her day to day activities, which often take place with a person named Elmer. She mentions many trips "after supper" to a place called The Hill Top. Many entries also concerns various movies which Rifenburg went to see, often including their names, the names of actors and actresses in the movie, as well as her opinions on them. There are also three advertisements for movies that were clipped out of local newspapers.
Dates:
1934
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Molly Elliot Seawell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.36
Scope and Contents
The papers of American writer Molly Elliot Seawell include personal diaries, correspondence, memoirs, photographs, news clippings, and other materials. Also included are photocopies of Seawell's business papers housed at the New York Public Library and at the Columbia University Library. The collection also contains other records from the Seawell family, mostly relating to Molly's aunt Maria Seawell Edwards, John T. Seawell and wife Isabella Josephine Brady, and Philip Hairston Seawell. The...
Dates:
1859-2001; Majority of material found in 1889-1916
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Warner Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.251
Scope and Contents
Diaries, accounts and address book of Anna P. (Anne) Warner (b. 1876) of Washington D.C. and Rebecca P. (Bess) Warner, sisters of Washington, D.C. The sisters came from a well-off family and traveled extensively in Europe. They remained single and shared an apartment. It has not been determined if one of the two 1899 diaries and the address book were kept by one of the sisters or by another family member. Most of the diaries contain detailed entries on their travels abroad,...
Dates:
1899-1929
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Wasson-Cox Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 00453
Scope and Contents
Diary, 1826-1946, of Lydia Wasson (1800-1853) of North Carolina and La Porte, Indiana, her daughter Charlotte Wasson Cox, and her grandson William Wasson Cox (b. 1857). At the beginning of the diary, Lydia Wasson, a devout Quaker, chronicles her life from birth to 1826 when the regular diary entries begin. Toward the end of her life she dictated her entries to her daughter, who after her mother's death continued to write in the diary a few more times at irregular intervals. Charlotte Wasson...
Dates:
1826-1946; Majority of material found in 1826-1853
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center